Allison Mailer – Executive Director

Upon graduating from UBC in Anthropology with a focus on museum studies in 1994 Allison was offered a two month contract to cover the front desk and lead tours at the BC Sports Hall of Fame. Since then she has held many roles within the organization from leading the volunteer and education programs, managing special events, media relations, marketing and facility planning. From April 2010 through January 2012 Allison was the project manager for the major renovation project undertaken by the BC Sports Hall of Fame transforming the Hall of Champions and creating the Vancouver 2010 Gallery. Allison has always enjoyed the unique nature of working at the BC Sports Hall of Fame where the athletes and teams entrust the staff team with their inspiring stories and artifact treasures with the community. Allison has been on the Board for the International Sports Heritage Association and is currently the Vice-President Communications for the Canadian Association for Sport Heritage. Allison is a past figure skater and soccer player and is now enjoying sport mostly from the side line as she cheers on her future Hall of Famer.

Jason Beck – Curator and Facility Director

In November 2003 while attending the University College of the Fraser Valley in Abbotsford, Jason began a six-month practicum at the BC Sports Hall of Fame creating an organizational guide for the Hall’s archival collection. At the practicum’s conclusion he was hired part-time as a curatorial assistant for the summer, a position he maintained for the next two years while completing his B.A. in History at Simon Fraser University. Over time Jason’s roles broadened to include work with the artifact collection and creating museum displays, as well as research and writing. Upon graduation in 2006, he was hired as the BC Sports Hall of Fame’s full-time curator, responsible for managing the Hall’s enormous artifact and archival collections. A sports nut since a young boy and a competitive soccer player, Jason remains passionate about sharing with visitors BC sports stories of all kinds—the great, the weird, the tragic, the unknown—using items from the Hall of Fame’s remarkable collection.

Ruth Reynolds – Business Development Manager

Sport has always been a big part of Ruth’s life. Many of her lifelong friends were made through sport. So, she believes in its power. To entertain and make friends, yes, certainly, but also to inspire and drive us to pursue our dreams and goals. As a girl, Ruth watched Nancy Greene win Silver and Gold in the Grenoble Olympics and was inspired to learn how to ski.

Setting goals and pursuing them is important to Ruth. In the media for 21 years, she worked with businesses to help them achieve their goals to launch and grow. Starting in 2008, Ruth ran a non-profit offering business programs to train people who dreamed of owning their own businesses.

In her role at the BC Sports Hall of Fame, Ruth brings her experience in business and in education to help our future generations know that they can dream and set goals and be the best in the world!

Barbara Chu – Comptroller

Cecilia Olmos – Media, Events Co-ordinator

Ashley Masterson – Education & Guest Services Co-ordinator

Kirk Sorensen – Community Outreach Co-ordinator

BC Sports Hall of Fame – Board of Trustees 2014-2015

Honourary Patron

The Honourable Judith Guichon
OBC Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia

Honourary Trustees

The Honourable Christy Clark, Premier of British Columbia
Peter J.G. Bentley, O.C., Inducted
Dr. Doug Clement, Inducted
Ron Cliff
Jack Farley, Inducted
Norman Fieldgate, Inducted
Karen Magnussen, Inducted

Board of Trustees

Alan Tynan, Chair
Jim Lightbody, Vice-Chair
Gareth Rees, Inducted, Past Chair
Scott Wells, Treasurer
Rick Jagpal, Secretary
Ashley Baker
Michael Bentley
Colin Brown
Graham Brown
Christie Buono
Tracy Campbell
Kathy DeLisser
Colby Fackler
Pauline Finn
Dale Harris
Janice Hunter
Mary Anne Kaardal
Greg Keith
Marion Lay, Inducted
Tom Mayenknecht
Joanie McMaster
Lara Mussell-Savage
Andrea Neil, Inducted
Ken Olynyk
John Ormiston
Bud Patel
Jamie Pitblado
Dale Saip
Marvin R.V. Storrow, Q.C.
Oggy Talic
David Weiss